consultants are sandburs

Wednesday, June 24, 2015

TPP, TPA cloture vote seems to have made it a done deal.

The 60 votes for cloture, (a lack of debate or amendments on the main bill), were attained. The 13 Dem Senators who voted for cloture, (per the alphabetical-order list below from an email sent me):

Michael Bennet (D-CO)
Maria Cantwell (D-WA)
Tom Carper (D-DE)
Chris Coons (D-DE)
Dianne Feinstein (D-CA)
Heidi Heitkamp (D-ND)
Tim Kaine (D-VA)
Claire McCaskill (D-MO)
Patty Murray (D-WA)
Bill Nelson (D-FL)
Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH)
Mark Warner (D-VA)
Ron Wyden (D-OR)

Look at the list: Murray, Cantwell from Boeing, Microsoft, Costco.

The two Delaware Senators, DuPont land, plus the state with the most lax corporate regulatory regime, explaining why so many large, small and mid-size firms nominally incorporate and headquarter there.

Warner and Kaine from the defense industrial complex - beltway.

McCaskill from Monsanto. And Boeing's military arm, McDonnell of Vietnam Phantom jet fame, now F-18, has roots there.

Heitkamp from big fracking oil.

Feinstein from Silicon Valley - Hollywood, and their copyright fetish.

Wyden from Uncle Phil's Nike sweat shop empire.

Big Pharma likely resides where Republicans end up as Senators.

Colorado and Florida, hard to say, each of them having large military presence, if that's a factor.

New Hampshire, some of the Boston area cross border High-Tech is there, and at a guess that's a factor. That is a hard call as with Colorado and Florida.

Each of the others does appear to have major corporate debt-servicing to their votes.

No comments: